Our research and development work has beneficial applications throughout the world; solving water-related issues from the arid sand dunes of northeastern Africa to the rain drenched tropical forests of the Rio Chagres in Panama.

HRC Global Flash Flood Program
(Program Video, News and Outreach)

Cloud ImageDesert ImageScenic ImagePeople Image

16 November 2016

AAAS and the Hydrologic Research Center Announce 2016 Fellows

Washington D.C. -- Dr. Konstantine Georgakakos of the Hydrologic Research Center has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

This year's AAAS Fellows will be formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on 25 November 2016.

As part of the Section on Atmospheric and Hydrospheric Sciences, Dr. Georgakakos was elected as an AAAS Fellow for seminal contributions to the development of hydrometeorological models and flood forecasting systems and their application for the benefit of society.

KPG Portrait Konstantine Georgakakos, is the Director and a Senior Research Scientist at the Hydrologic Research Center.  He is also an adjunct professor at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography of the UC San Diego and at the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department of the University of Iowa.  Georgakakos studies hydrology, hydroclimatology, and hydrometeorology.  In 1993 he founded the Hydrologic Research Center (HRC) in San Diego, a science cooperation and technology transfer center, with main emphasis the application of advanced methods of science and engineering toward the improvement of disaster and water resources management worldwide.  He is a Fellow of the American Meteorological Society and one of the Chief Editors of the Journal of Hydrology.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the Association's 24 sections, or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee's institution), or by the AAAS chief executive officer. Fellows must have been continuous members of AAAS for four years by the end of the calendar year in which they are elected.

Each steering group reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.

2012 Hurricane Sandy Case Study
Precipitation & Soil Moisture Animations
HDRFFG FFG Flash Flood Guidance
feature article
Climate, Hydrology and
Water Management